A- A A+


The Bermuda Sectional took place June 13-16th 2014. Click here for full results.

The games kicked off in a timely manner at 1pm on Friday under the watchful eye of Karl Hicks, our returning Director.  Fourteen tables played in the Alyce Craft Stratified Pairs, which was generally thought to be a good number for a Friday afternoon and the competition was intense with Magda and Sheena running out winners. 


The evening session, The Independent Financial Services Pairs, was even better attended with 16 tables, thanks to the novices and newcomers who were willing to join with the wily veterans.  Unfortunately, there were not enough sub 20 point players make a separate event for themselves.  This was a two session event ending on Monday night, the winners being Alan Douglas and Jane Smith.  Nikki Boyce and Carol Eastham won the Kirk and Judy Kitson Junior title for their hard work against the old campaigners on Monday night. 

Saturday was devoted to the David Ezekiel Bridge Column Pairs which was won in fine style by Jean Johnson and Margie Way. 

On Sunday the fun really started with the team event that had twelve teams competing.  Congratulations to the winning team of the irrepressible Pat Riding partnered by the renowned Brian Meyer ably joined by the untried and untested partnership of Katrina Van Pelt and Kerry Hicks. 

Monday afternoon saw Katrina back in the limelight again this time with one of the club’s stalwarts, Diana Diel, as they won the Maiden Monday Pairs.  

Monday evening concluded with the prize giving where further winners were Paul Thompson for top scoring Senior and Marsha Fraser as top scoring Junior. 

My thanks goes out to Karl Hicks for his directing ably assisted by Jack Rhind, Jane Smith and others too numerous to mention.  Lorna Anderson did outstanding work behind the scenes collecting the refreshments, preparing, serving and cleaning up afterwards.  There were others too who popped in and out of the kitchen delivering afternoon cakes and cookies and otherwise assisting and I thank them all.  That concudes my report save to thank all those who participated.  It wouldn’t have been the same without you.

Andy Carne

Tournament Chairman